Denison College - Bathurst High Campus

Safe Respectful Learners

Telephone02 6331 3755

Learning at our school

Find out more about what your child will learn at our school.

Senior Studies Guide 2024- 2025

For upcoming seniors, the Senior Studies Guide gives an overview of the curriculum requirements and options available.

Curriculum at a Glance

Bathurst High Campus, as a part of Denison College has a rich curriculum full of opportunity. In the senior years students can access courses on both campuses and at Bathurst TAFE. 

The Future Pathways document has information about subject selection for Stage 5 (Years 9 and 10).



The NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) is responsible for the curriculum, Kindergarten to Year 12, for all NSW schools.

For the high school years, NESA develops syllabuses for all subjects in 8 key learning areas:

  • creative arts
  • English
  • human society and its environment (HSIE)
  • languages
  • mathematics
  • personal development, health and physical education (PDHPE)
  • science
  • technological and applied studies (TAS).

NSW schools also offer special religious education and special education in ethics via approved providers, where available.

Like all NSW schools, we have developed teaching and learning programs to suit our local context and the needs of our students.

To learn more about the curriculum in NSW, visit:

Stages of learning

There are 6 stages of learning from Kindergarten to Year 12. High school covers Stages 4 to 6.

  • Stage 4 includes Years 7 and 8.
  • Stage 5 includes Years 9 and 10.
  • Stage 6 includes Years 11 and 12.

Related content